Arnold and Schaffer upset incumbents in Tuesday election

         Two upsets in the two local Republican races in Tuesday’s Primary.

        Ron Arnold defeats incumbent Tom McCracken for the Daviess County Commissioner District 1 seat.  Arnold wins with about a 58 to 42% margin.  Arnold had 2,233 votes and McCracken with 1,677.

      Arnold told us he was overwhelmed by the support he received during the campaign and has nothing but the utmost respect for his opponent.

        In the other race for Republican County Council At Large, the winners were challenger Tom Schaffer, incumbents Mike Sprinkle and Jo Ann McCracken.  Incumbent and current County Council President Kent Norris was defeated.  Schaffer had 2,590 votes; Sprinkle 2,495; McCracken with 2,489 and Norris with 2,445.  Only 44 votes separated McCracken and Norris.   Schaffer, Sprinkle and McCracken will be on the November General Election Ballot.

     Out of over 17,000 registered voters in Daviess County, just under 5,000 bothered to vote by mail or in person. Turnout was 28.24%.