Daviess County Primary Results

Tom McCracken, Shawn Gabhart and Kent Norris win their primary challenges..(photos from Washington Times Herald)





Three upsets in Daviess County.

Republican challenger Shawn Gabhart ousted Incumbent Dennis Helms for the Surveyor’s race. Gabhart moves onto the November Ballot.  He Gabhart had 3032 votes narrowly winning over Helms 2923 votes. We asked him what he thought gave him the victory…

Gabhart currently has no Democrat opposition for the fall.

Incumbent District 1 County Commissioner Dan Jones was defeated by Tom McCracken. The vote count was 3196 to 2389.  McCracken said he was shocked at the win.


McCracken believes his message of wanting to serve the people and his knowledge of county roads as a 30 year veteran of the highway department helped his campaign.  

McCracken will face Democrat Mark Smith in the fall.

In the GOP County Council At Large Races the incumbent Jo Arthur lost her spot on the GOP fall ballot and council at the end of the year finishing 4th in the 4 person race where 3 move on to the fall.  Arthur had 3107 votes.  Jo Ann McCracken had the most votes with 3464, Mike Sprinkle had 3426 and Challenger Kent Norris had 3335 and will be on the fall ballot.  He’s looking ahead to November..

Norris, Sprinkle and Jo Ann McCracken will face Democrats Ron Critchlow, Travis Linneweber and Michael Potts in the General Election. The top 3 out of six will be on the council.

In the federal races….Daviess Countians chose Donald Trump over Ted Cruz for the GOP nomination 6o to 40%.  Democrats picked Bernie Sanders for President over Hillary Clinton about 57 to 43 percent.

 For US Congress Republican Todd Young beat Marlin Stutzman 58 to 42% in Daviess County.

For 8th District Republican Larry Bucshon had 57% and beat challenger Richard Moss to 43%. For the Democrats Ron Drake took Daviess County with 56% and David Orentlicher had 44%.

For the Indiana General Assembly in the State Rep District 62 race,  Jeff Ellington wins 58% to 42% over Sawyer Sparks in the Daviess County part of that district.